Mushroom Cake

In the party cakes chapter there is a sub section of novelty cakes. I thought this one sounded interetsing so decided to make for us..

image

image

I started with the sponges, and I was thinking that this seemed like not enough cake mix for two 7 inch tins. I do make quite a lot of cakes and would normally use double this amount for this size. I wasn’t expecting a massive cake!

image

I then whisked the egg white, it was looking lovely and glossy..

image

I then just piped random shaped blobs onto a tray..

image

I’ve never had much success with meringues, and the recipe doesn’t actually give any advice on cooking the meringues! I decided I would turn the oven down after the sponges were cooked and let the meringues cook for about 20 minutes then turn the oven off and leave them in to cool.

Have to say I think they turned out quite well!

image

The recipe says the stalks should be almond paste which I assume to be marzipan, I didn’t have any so I used fondant for the stalks..

image

The I piped chocolate buttercream on the underside to look like the gills..

image

I ended up with loads of mushrooms, I reckon I had about 30, so we had to eat a few to check they were ok, and they are fab! Like little sweeties!

As expected the cakes weren’t that big once baked, and then were sandwiched together with chocolate buttercream..

image

Then I covered the too and sides with more buttercream..

image

I then couldn’t decide how to decorate with the fork so I just went for swirls..

image

Next I mixed some coconut with green colouring paste and a touch of water..

image

Now all that’s left to do is decorate the cake. I had loads of mushrooms and if I used them all then the entire cake and board would be covered. Instead I used just about half and think it looked good!

image

So how does it taste? It’s all good! The cake and icing are good and it’s nice when you get a bit if the coconut. Overall I think this is a really good fun cake to make. I can’t imagine ever having an occasion that would require a mushroom cake!

Would I make this again? Yes I do think I would!

image

12 thoughts on “Mushroom Cake

  1. I adore those little shrooms Jacqui – they are gorgeous and have given me a fab idea for my husband’s birthday next year. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

