Semolina Gnocchi Alla Romana

I do really like gnocchi and have made the potato version a good few times. I’ve also made the cream cheese version from this book almost exactly a year ago! I had bought semolina for another recipe but decided to try this instead..

image

image

Even though I was making this for the three of us I decided to half it, 4oz of semolina measured out seemed like quite a lot. I found that the minute I added the semolina to the milk it started to thicken. I was beating as best I could but it did all look a bit lumpy!

image

I think the trick is to work quickly as it really does thicken fast and then feels like it’s about to set. I quickly added the egg and Parmesan..

image

Once the egg and Parmesan has been beaten in it does look much creamier and softer..

image

I did have a bit of difficulty spreading onto a tray as it really was thickening fast! I attempted to smooth flat but it kept sticking to the spoon!

image

I left to cool for about half an hour and then I started to cut into squares. It did feel a bit soft and was thinking I should’ve left to cool for a bit longer. The wee squares did hold their shape ok but just didn’t look great..

image

Then I topped with some butter and more Parmesan..

image

After a few minutes under the grill is was looking nicely browned, maybe slightly more browned in some areas..

image

I had made a pretty basic tomato sauce and poured that over the top..

image

Then finally topped with more cheese..

image

Well I thought this was great!! The gnocchi is lovely and soft and tastes great with the Parmesan and tomato sauce. The others in my house were a bit put off when I told them it was semolina but I think 3 clean plates is a good sign! It is very filling and half the full recipe was the perfect amount for the three of us.

Would I make this again? Yes, wee bit of effort but worth it

image

4 thoughts on “Semolina Gnocchi Alla Romana

Leave a Reply

