Spaghetti with Meatballs

This is quite a popular dinner in this house, and I do make this a lot but I never use a recipe! My meatballs tend to just be mince and seasoning, I very rarely add anything else. So these meatballs seemed like more of a faff than my usual efforts!

image

image

I started mixing the meatball ingredients and was thinking I should’ve removed the crusts from the bread!

image

I also used dried basil but for some reason I only had the purple variety!

I didn’t count my meatballs and wasn’t particularly uniform about shaping them..

image

So these were fried for about 7 minutes while I chopped the veg for the sauce..

image

Then it was on with the sauce. When I usually make meatball sauce I tend to blitz it to make it smoother. I quite like the idea of the chunks of veg in this sauce and is another good way of sneaking in extra veg for the kids..

image

After 30 minutes the sauce really had thickened up and the meatballs were nicely cooked..

image

I was making this for 2 adults and 2 kids so I used the whole 8oz of recommended spaghetti. In other pasta recipes I felt the quantities were a little sparse! In this case all this was the perfect amount for the four of us..
image

Finally it was served with Parmesan on top and a little extra on the table..

image

Well as spaghetti and meatballs go this is rather good!! The sauce is great as are the meatballs. I think the egg and bread are used to bind together but when I make mine without them they do work just as well. I suppose adding the bread helps bulk up the quantity and serve more. Overall this was a great recipe and clean plates all round!

Would I make this again? Yes

image

Leave a Reply

