Dry Beef Curry

So from reading this title I assume there’s not going to be much free liquid in this! This is going to make me sound really old fashioned but I do like a good sauce with my food! Anyway I like the sound of all the flavours in this and like making something that takes a bit longer on a Sunday..

image

I started mixing all the spices together and I thought this looked pretty good..

image

I didn’t have tamarind water or even know what that is, instead I used equal quantites of vinegar and water to make this paste.

Once the onion and garlic had been fried in the butter I added the spice paste and the curry paste. I only had tikka curry paste so that had to do!

Next I added the meat..

image

The smells at this point are good! After the first hour the meat looks like it has taken on all the flavour and smells even better..

image

I just added some water and then left for another while. I really didn’t think 2 hours was enough time to cook the meat, so I left this much longer, probably 3 hours I think. I did have to add a touch more water so that it didn’t dry up completely before I felt the meat was soft enough.

So after about 3 hours there was no free liquid left and the meat was looking really soft..

image

May not look good but I can assure you the smells are fab! We were having this with some boiled rice and homemade naan.

image

The recipe says to serve with sambols – I’d never heard of this term but the next page has a picture of this recipe and some suggested sambols..

image

Some of these are just utterly bizarre! Why on earth would you want to serve banana with a curry! Maybe I need to try it! Also I think melon is another strange option, yes I know mango chutney is great but melon just seems wrong!

So this was dinner for the three of us and was brilliant. Yes it’s dry but I like that about it, which I didn’t expect to. The flavour from all the spices is really good and wasn’t too spicy for my daughter. Overall it’s a really great recipe and was a well enjoyed dinner!

Would I make this again? Yes definitely

image

Leave a Reply

