Savoury Pancakes

This recipe is in the Russian section and is the second time I’ve tried a pancake with yeast. The last time it was bacon pancakes and I didn’t really enjoy the yeast pancakes, I could really taste the yeast which wasn’t particularly enjoyable. So was hoping these would turn out better..

image

image

First off the yeast, milk and flour is left for a couple of hours. It doesn’t really look like a dough..

image

After two hours it looks like it’s been bubbling away..

image

Then I attempted to stir in the rest of the ingredients. It’s a really weird consistency and was hard to mix in the rest of the flour and egg yolks..

image

Then it was hard to fold in the egg whites..

image

After leaving this for another half hour it was feeling really stringy and not looking terrible appealing!

image

So then it’s on with the pancakes. It’s a really difficult mixture to manage and was hard to spread into the pan. I had to assume the pancakes are meant to be quite thick!

image
image

I reckon I ended up with 9 very thick pancakes! So the recipe says to spread with the desired filling, I had smoked mackerel so that’s what I used! I did start to think I should’ve got some sour cream to spread over first!

image

So I kept going and ended up with a rather weird looking stack of pancakes..

image

This may not be a typical Sunday night dinner and the other two were a bit stunned when they saw it was pancakes stacked with smoked mackerel!

I was worried it was going to be really dry so we had some smoked garlic mayo with it!

image

Well I really enjoyed this! The pancakes and mackerel together are actually quite nice! My daughter did enjoy this as well, more than I think she expected to! The pancakes are good and they don’t taste yeasty! Overall it’s good, very filling but probably more suited to a weekend lunch than dinner!

Would I make this again? Possibly

image

Leave a Reply

