Mincemeat Slices

I made mincemeat a couple of weeks ago and was going to make mince pies but decided I liked the sound of this instead..

image

image

First off I made the pastry, I don’t think I used as much as the recipe suggests. It’s a really soft dough even after adding only 2 tbsps..

image

I had a couple of botched attempts at rolling out because it’s so soft and because I hadn’t put enough flour on the board. I rolled it out to just over 8 inches.

image

Then I spread with the mincemeat..

image

I ended up using a whole jar! It wasn’t a massive jar but I do think I could’ve added even more. Then I rolled out the other half and put on top..

image

Then I topped with the milk and brown sugar.

image

After 20 minutes in the oven it had turned quite a dark brown.

image

I trimmed the edges off to make it a proper square before cutting into slices..

image

image

So how does this compare to a regular mince pie? Yes it’s nice but really does need more mincemeat! The pastry is lovely and soft and the sugar on top is a good touch. I reckon this would suit people who aren’t a massive mincemeat fan and only like a little layer, I do love mincemeat and needs way more in my opinion!

Would I make this again? Yes, more mincemeat and maybe some ornage peel in the pastry

image

4 thoughts on “Mincemeat Slices

Leave a Reply

