Boeuf Bourguignonne

I haven’t made this in ages and think this is a perfect Sunday dinner!

image
image

I decided to make the full quantity so that there would be leftovers for tea tomorrow! Think it’s one of those dishes that tastes even better the second day!

I am terribly impatient and think I have a tendency to skip things or rush things when cooking. I had plenty of time to make this today so took my time and browned the meat in nice small batches as I think that’s quite an important step!

image

image

After about 20 minutes the meat was all browned and put into a casserole..

image

Then I fried the bacon and stirred in the flour.

2015/01/img_2168.jpg

Then I attempted to light the brandy and pour over, but the flames from the brandy were slightly scary so by the time I picked up the pan it was in to pour over all the flames had died down!!

I then added all the other ingredients..

2015/01/img_2169.jpg

So while this was cooking I fried the shallots..

2015/01/img_5872.jpg

2015/01/img_5874.jpg</a

I had this cooking for much longer than the recipe says. Think it was closer to 4 hours and by then it was smelling pretty great!!

2015/01/img_5880.jpg

We had this with some mashed potato..

2015/01/img_5881.jpg

Well this was really really good!! We both loved it. The meat is so soft and the flavour from all the other ingredients is so wonderfully rich.

Would I make this again? Oh yes, loved it and can’t wait for the leftovers!!

2015/01/img_5879.jpg

2 thoughts on “Boeuf Bourguignonne

  1. Yum!

    One time I invited my parents for dinner and told my mum I would make her whatever she wanted. She picked this dish! Not exactly an easy one and not a recipe I had any practice at, but I guess she figured I could do it. Usually, when cooking for others, I prefer to cook things I’ve cooked many times before.

Leave a Reply

