Swiss Steak

I looked up Swiss steak to see if it is an actual recipe and did come across a few, also found a definition which says its meat, usually beef, prepared by means of rolling or pounding, and then braising in a cooking pot of stewed tomatoes, either on a stove or in an oven.

There’s no rolling or pounding in this recipe but it is cooked on the stove with tomatoes!

image
image

I went to the butcher with the intention of buying chuck or blade steak but he told me that’s an English term and in Scotland it’s called braising steak! So that’s what I bought..

image

I bought a pound of meat which is two thirds of the amount in the recipe, so I reduced the other ingredients accordingly, still seemed like a lot of onions..

image

I removed the onion after 5 minutes or so and then started on the meat. It says to cut into 8 bits but mine ended up slightly random sizes..

image

I cooked for 3 minutes on each and by then to was nicely browned..

image

Then I added the rest of the ingredients, I was using fresh tomatoes rather than canned ones..

image

I mixed it all together and was ready to simmer on the hob..

image

I didn’t think it seemed like much liquid, but I left it to simmer for a while and after the first hour there was significantly more liquid in the pan, I guess that comes from the tomatoes..

image

I didn’t pay too much attention to how long I cooked this for, I think it was closer to three hours, and by then the meat was soft and the sauce was looking darker and much thicker..

image

I couldn’t decide what to serve with these and was flicking through the book for inspiration and it landed at the sauté potatoes..

image

These totally remind me of my childhood! My dad was always making these!!

image

So this was dinner, Swiss steak and saute potatoes, and what a great dinner it was!! The swiss steak is really really good; the meat is lovely and soft and the sauce with it is rich and delicious. The crispy potatoes were a good accompaniment.

Would I make this again? Yes definitely.

image

2 thoughts on “Swiss Steak

Leave a Reply

