Fudge Cake

This one comes from the recipes around the world chapter and is from New Zealand. When you read the title you expect a chocolate sponge cake with a thick fudgy icing, but this is more like a tiffin. I did a search for New Zealand fudge cake and I found a few references to recipes very similar to this, so maybe this is quite an authentic recipe..

image
image

It just says 8oz of nuts so I opted for a mixture of what was in the cupboard, which was walnuts, pistachios and cashews..

image

I used my blender to chop up the nuts. Then I decided digestive biscuits were the best to use, so blitzed these to a much finer consistency than the nuts..

image

These were then mixed together..

image

Next I made the chocolate mix which really doesn’t take long. The butter had melted pretty quickly and then I added the egg. The mixture does thicken almost straightaway but I was a bit worried about using the egg almost raw! So I left it on a very low heat for a good 10 minutes, stirring constantly. Maybe I overcooked but it still looked nice and thick after all that time. So then it’s mixed with the biscuits and nuts..

image

image

I pressed it into a square 8inch tin that I had lined with greaseproof paper so that it would lift out easily..

image

I left this to cool for quite a while before cutting into slices..

image

It is a bit crumbly but does cut into decent slices. Taste wise it is good, not as rich as some tiffins can be. Its not as chocolatey as I expected, I’d maybe up the actual chocolate content next time, but overall it’s a great wee treat with a cup of tea.

Would I make this again? Yes, we all loved it

image

Leave a Reply

