Sole Veronique

I think this is a very classic recipe and I vaguely remember my mum making something similar but with chicken! I was actually making this with plaice, I’d bought two whole plaice and decided I would fillet them myself, what a mistake!

image

image

I do not know why I thought it would be a good idea to fillet the fish myself, I really should’ve asked the fishmonger to do it for me..

image

So after 3 knives, one pair of scissors and about half an hour I had a really sorry looking set of fillets. I had two fish and according to the website I was using for filleting advice I should’ve ended up with 8 fillets. I ended up with 7 awful looking examples of fillets..

image

My next issue was that I forgot to get mushrooms! Had to just carry on without and covered the fish with all the other ingredients..

image

While this was in the oven I started simmering the grapes, and then I did peel them! What a completely tedious thing to do! I did start to think it was a bit unnecessary and what differnce does it really make so I only ended up peeling half of them…

image

I took the fish out the oven after only about 12 minutes and was well cooked and even more pathetic looking!

image

Then I made the sauce and poured over the fish..

image

We were having this with some homemade oven chips, kind of a posh fish and chips! I don’t think my husband and daughter were very impressed when they saw the grapes in the sauce!

image

There really isn’t much eating in this dish, which is such a shame as the fish is really nice. It’s very soft and I did actually quite like the sauce and grapes with it, can’t say the same for the other two sharing this with me!

Would I make this again? Maybe…

image

Leave a Reply

