Scallops au Gratin

I have never cooked scallops before, I’ve eaten them a good few times but this is a first for me.
image

image

I bought these lovely looking scallops from the fishmonger and as I was reading this recipe I did start to think maybe I should skip it and simply pan fry these, is it wrong to mess with them quite so much?

image

Anyway I decided to stick with the recipe. I’d bought 6 scallops for the three of us, and I cut each in half..

image

Then I left them to simmer in the milk for 10 minutes..

image

I do try to be organised when cooking but sometimes it’s a bit of a last minute rush, I’m not always this organised..

image

After ten minutes in the milk I drained the scallop pieces. I couldn’t get scallop shells to serve these in unfortunately so I had to just use ramekins. I couldn’t decide if they looked overcooked or not..

image

Then I made the sauce using the milk and it did seem like a lot of sauce! I did reduce the quantities but still thought was too much. I did have a taste of the sauce at this stage and is great, it has a really fab flavour from using the milk the scallops were simmered in.

image

So I just spooned over each ramekin until the scallops were almost covered. I have loads sauce leftover so I might use later in week for something else, can’t face pouring it away!

image

Then I topped with the rest of the cheese and the breadcrumbs and topped each dish before putting under the grill..

image

I was worried about cooking the scallops for much longer, reckon they were under the grill for 5 minutes..

image

I think it looks just rubbish, and I know I say this over and over and over again but my photo does not do this justice! The scallops are lovely, cooked just right in my opinion and wonderfully soft. I’m glad I didn’t drown them in the sauce, the sauce is good too but I want the scallop to be the star! The crunchy bits on top add a nice extra texture which is good. Overall great wee dish.

Would I make this again? Yes, lovely

image

2 thoughts on “Scallops au Gratin

Leave a Reply

