Almond Fritters

I liked the sound of this recipe but have never been a massive fan of rose water! Kind of think it’s like eating soap! This recipe doesn’t have an exact quantity of rose water so I guess I can use a little bit less so that it’s not too strong..

image
image

So this is a Greek recipe aparrantly, but have to say it’s a bit vague in places!

I started making the dough and I was halving it so only had 4oz flour and 1 tbsp of butter (was all out of lard!), so then I kept adding milk until it started to come together in a dough like fashion..

image

It’s not the smoothest looking dough but I decided it would do!

Then I mixed the almonds, sugar and cinnamon. I opted for a mix of ground and chopped almonds..

image

Then there’s no sugar or cinnamon quantity, so I just sprinkled in maybe only a teaspoon of sugar and possibly quarter of a teaspoon of cinnamon. I didn’t measure it and just sort of sprinkled over..

image

So then I got thinking about the shape, I don’t have a square cutter and couldn’t be bothered to get the ruler out so I opted for circles!

image

Then I topped each circle with a small spoonful of the almond mix..

image

Then my next dilemma was over the sealing of them! Was I supposed to fold them over or top with another circle? I opted for the folding over…

image

So then I fried them, haven’t deep fried anything in a while..

image

They did puff up and turn a nice golden brown very quickly..

image

Yet again there’s not much detail in the honey, rose water mixture. Should it be thick and sticky to coat the fritters or runny to kind of soak in? I opted for runny and mixed about a teaspoon of honey with about 100ml of water and a few drops of rose water and all together it actually smells quite good!

I dipped each one in and they very quickly absorbed the honey liquid..

image

Well I have to say these a rather lovely!! The pastry is great as the honey liquid stuff has soaked in and is actually really good, then the almond, cinnamon filing is good. I think I got the quantites spot on!

image

I made about 20 of these and I think I’ve eaten about 10 of them! I may be converted to liking rose water now!!

Would I make these again? Yes, loved these..

image

Leave a Reply

