Pork Ragout

I made an egg ragout last week and was probably one of the most awful looking things I have made! It actually tasted quite nice, but am hoping this ragout recipe is going to be better..

image
image

The list of ingredients do read more like the what you’d expect in a ragout..meat, garlic, red wine..

First off I fried the onions..

image

Then I added the pork, which I got the butcher to bone and cube for me..

image

It is quite fatty so I did cut off a few extra overly fat bits. Then I had this cooking for 10 minutes before adding the onion, garlic and pepper..

image

Then I added the chilli, celery salt, wine and stock. I like using celery salt and often add that to soups. I think it has a really interetsing flavour. So once all that’s added it doesn’t look terribly exciting..

image

While that was simmering away I started with the rice, so if I had halved everything else I had planned to half the rice amount but 1.5oz of rice is hardly any and to half that would just seem pointless, so I opted to keep the full amount..

image

I was going to make my own stuffing but then I found a packet of stuffing mix for only 27p, and I was only using half so technically is only 13.5p of stuffing!

image

Once I’d added boiling water and left to thicken, I then shaped into balls..

image

I think I had the pork simmering for about the full hour and a half and by then it was looking a bit more appealing..

image

Then I added the cooked rice..

image

Then the fried stuffing balls..

image

So this was dinner for the three of us and we all enjoyed it! The pork is lovely and soft and the flavour from the sauce is just great! I don’t think my daughter particularly loved the stuffing balls as they are quite strongly flavoured with sage, but I think it all went together really well..

image

Would I make this again? Yes, is really delicious..

image

2 thoughts on “Pork Ragout

Leave a Reply

