Coffee Kisses

I love the name of this recipe, and I love coffee flavoured baked things..

image

image

I’ve not had much success with meringue based recipes so far. I know this isn’t exactly a meringue but does involve an egg white! I have lots of bags of egg whites in the freezer and I opted to defrost just one to make half this recipe.

image

First off I whisked the egg white to a stiff peak..

image

Then I folded in the sugar and almonds, and it doesn’t look great at this stage, almost like porridge!

image

I then literally dropped teaspoons onto the tray. I do think I need to try be a bit more refined with my cooking sometimes…

image

After 15 minutes in the oven they did even out a bit..

image

While they were cooling I made the icing and the filling. Both were easy enough and both have a nice strong coffee flavour, although perhaps a tad sweet!

image

I probably should’ve made more of an effort when icing half of them. I just poured it over using a spoon but I have a multitude of icing utensils and am wishing I’d maybe piped it on with more of a design..

image

Then I spread the other half with the filling and then sandwiched them together..

image

So not the prettiest looking things but they taste fab! The icing is more like a coffee slap than a coffee kiss but I like that! The biscuits are really light and have a nice chewiness, the icing is very strong with coffee and very sweet! We all loved them, even my daughter, although after eating one I made her come for a 3 mile walk after!!

Would I make these again? Yes, I’d make them smaller with maybe less icing next time..

image

Leave a Reply

