Cherry and Nut Cookies

I have an abundance of multi coloured glace cherries in the cupboard so decided to make these today..

image

image

Nice and easy dough to make, first off the fat is rubbed into the flour..

image

Then the sugar, lemon rind and egg yolk is added..

image

I ended up using the full 4 tbsps of milk before I had a stiff dough..

image

I then rolled them into balls, and I ended up with nearer 30..

image

The recipe says lightly whisked egg white, so I barely whisked this for a minute or so until it was a bit frothy..

image

I used my food processor to blitz up the walnuts..

image

So then I dipped the cookie balls into the egg and then into the nuts..

image

I actually ran out of walnuts so I blitzed a few pistachios and rolled a few in them instead..

image

image

Then I topped each one with half a cherry of varying colours..

image

After 25 minutes they were slighty browned and firm and smelling quite tasty..

image

I left them to cool before trying with a cup of tea and are good! The lemon in them is really nice and the crunchy nut covering is great. The cherries on top have gone quite sticky which is good as well! I thought my daughter would turn her nose up at these as they perhaps don’t look like the kind of biscuit a child may eat, but after trying one she was back for more and more..

Would I make these again? Yes!

image

One thought on “Cherry and Nut Cookies

Leave a Reply

