Rich Beef Casserole

It was soo cold and miserable yesterday and that totally put me in the mood for some kind of slow cooked beef dish. I picked this one as I had all the ingredients in the cupboard…

IMG_2476
image

I probably would’ve expected a few more ingredients for a rich casserole..

image

..but then I suppose that makes this an appealing recipe, few ingredients for hopefully a rich tasty casserole!

Really quick to get this in the oven, first off the onion and peppers are fried and transferred to the casserole dish..

image

Then the beef is browned..

image

Finally the wine, tomato paste and some seasoning is added and then that’s all added to the casserole dish..

image

So that’s it! It’s shoved in the oven and left for a good couple of hours. Normally I don’t pay too much attention to the timings of dishes like this, but considering there really isn’t much liquid I did check on this now and again, and after an hour it was looking dry so I did add a splash of water.

I think in total I gave this just over two hours. So the recipe says to add a packet of frozen sweetcorn in the last 10 minutes, but the packet I have is huge! So I added about a mug full and put back in for the last few minutes..

IMG_2473

After then it’s smelling good and looking rather inviting!

image

We were having this with some mashed potato..

IMG_2476

So as a casserole goes this is good, it’s not as rich as I imagined it would be, but all three of us really enjoyed it.

Would I make this again? Yes, easy and made with pretty basic ingredients..

IMG_2476

3 thoughts on “Rich Beef Casserole

Leave a Reply

