Fruit Pie

I was given a load of rhubarb from my sisters in-laws, I do grow my own but it’s always a bit thin and pathetic looking! So I made a vat of rhubarb chutney today and had enough left over to make a couple of mini fruit pies..

image

image

First off I made the shortcrust pastry..

image

I had opted to make two mini pies rather than one big one so reduced the fruit and sugar quantities by about a half. I sliced the rhubarb and then layered in the dishes with the sugar..

image

image

Next I lined the rim of each dish with some pastry and then covered with a lid of pastry..

image

I thought it seemed like quite a long cooking time, but they did take the full 50 minutes, and after then one pie had puffed up but the other hadn’t!

image

I thought I had prepared them both exactly the same, but can only assume I’ve sealed the puffed up one a bit better and so the steam generated in it has affected the shape!

I was going to have this with some custard or ice cream but I just dusted with icing sugar and served as they are..

image

image

When I was filling the dishes I didn’t want to over fill them, but on hindsight I wished I’d packed in loads more as it has totally reduced in volume while cooking and almost looks a bit empty!!

image

Taste wise it’s pretty nice. The pastry is really thin and was ok, the filling is nice but maybe a touch more sugar and I do think the ginger would’ve been a nice addition. I do wish I’d packed in more filling!

Would I make these again? Yes!

image

6 thoughts on “Fruit Pie

Leave a Reply

