Stuffed Crab

I’ve only ever used tinned crab before, I have eaten fresh crab at a restaurant but never had to prepare before. The recipe says to prepare it in the usual way but I have not had much success preparing shellfish in the past!

image

image

I attempted to prepare a lobster a few months ago and was a complete disaster, I had no idea what bits should be avoided! So I was only ever going to try this with a dressed crab from the fishmonger..

image

To prepare the stuffing I first soaked the bread..

image

Once that had been squeezed I added the bacon, chilli, garlic, chives and seasoning..

image

I then mixed in the crab..

image

Then that was all piled back into the crab shell..

image

Finally it’s topped with breadcrumbs and then into the oven for about 30 minutes.

image

I had intended to buy two crabs and have one each but I thought that seemed too much, so I just made the one and we ended up having with a salad and some wedges.

image

We really enjoyed this! It is quite rich but in a good way! I didn’t really get much heat from the chilli so would maybe up that a bit more or even leave the seeds in! Overall it’s really delicious, and I was worried about the consistency with the brown meat and the bread but the breadcrumbs add a nice crunch.

Would I make this again? Yes, really enjoyed this..

image

One thought on “Stuffed Crab

Leave a Reply

