Creamed Rice

So I know this looks like baby food but I was in the mood for something warm and comforting for pudding, and I have a bag of pudding rice in the cupboard that I haven’t used in ages..

image

image

I made the rice pudding a while back, which was baked in the oven, and that was brilliant! That recipe didn’t say to specifically use pudding rice but I did, and this recipe does not specify either but again I assumed that’s what I should be using.

I was only making this for me so I decided to half everything..

image

So it’s all just put on to very gently simmer..

image

I checked on it every 10 mins and gave a stir to break up any skin that formed on the surface! I think I had this cooking for just over an hour and by then all the milk had been absorbed and the rice was nice and soft..

image

Well I loved loved loved this!! It’s soft and creamy and warm and lovely! Just the kind of pudding I was in the mood for! The recipe says this can be used as a base for peach Conde, which I will do at some point, but I think this is great just as it is!

Would I make this again? Yes, and I wish I’d made more!

image

2 thoughts on “Creamed Rice

Leave a Reply

