Sole in Egg Sauce

This is one of those recipes that sounds not very interesting and looks pretty awful but don’t judge just yet…

image

image

In the past I’ve attempted to skin a fillet of fish but has never been a great success, so I made sure the sole had been skinned by the fishmonger. I can cope with cutting it into cubes though! Very little prep for this..

image

The cornflour in the egg is a new one for me, and that is mixed until smooth..

image

So then the fish is dipped in and then into the hot pan..

image

While that’s having the first two minutes of cooking, the rest of the ingredients are mixed into the remaining egg mix. I had started this recipe with 8oz of fish so I had thirded everything else, but I thought that seemed like a stingy amount of spring onion and ginger so kept them the same!

image

The fish is turned after a couple of minutes and they have a kind of cooked eggy coating..

image

So after another 2 minutes the sauce is added, but there really isn’t much of it! The minute I added it to the pan the egg in the sauce immediately started to cook like an omelette and was impossible to stir in without making a hell of a mess..

image

It was at this point that we were looking at the pan and thinking that this was going to be a complete disaster! The more I tried to stir it the more the fish started to break down. I ended up just leaving the pan on a gentle heat for a few minutes to make sure all the egg had cooked.

image

We weren’t sure what the ideal accompaniment for this should be, but all we had was rice, it does make it a very bland looking dinner…

image

So like I said this does look pretty awful but it tastes blooming brilliant!! The fish is lovely and soft and has broken up in places but I think it’s cooked well, and the eggy coating to it is quite lovely! The flavour from the almost non-existent sauce is surprisingly good! The spring onions, ginger and sherry can all be tasted and together are great.

Overall this was truly delicious, a very pleasant surprise! I do wonder if this is really what it’s meant to be like!

Would I make this again? Oh yes…

image

Leave a Reply

