French Onion Soup

I think this may be my favourite soup, I very rarely order soup when eating out except when this is on the menu! I’ve made this a couple of times and the first time I used beef stock cubes and felt it just wasn’t quite right! I’ve never actually made my own beef stock so for this I bought some fresh beef stock from the supermarket..

image

image

So it’s quite a simple recipe, I think the version I made before had sugar, garlic and wine in it as well.

I had three quarters of a pint of stock so had to half everything else, but that ended up one large onion, so I threw in another one as I decided that wasn’t enough!!

image

The onions are started off in the butter..

image

The recipe says to cook for 5-10 minutes until browned but I had them cooking for nearly three times as long. I had the heat right down and they were cooking for about 30 minutes until really soft and starting to brown..

image

Then the flour was stirred through followed by the stock, bay leaf and a little seasoning..

image

Doesn’t look very appealing just now so lid on and left to simmer for 30 minutes.

I had bought Gruyere cheese to put on this which isn’t very French! Last time I made this I put the bread and cheese in the soup together, but for this I did as instructed and put the bread in the bowl followed by the soup then the cheese. Don’t actually see what the difference that all makes!

image

Even though I increased the quantity of onion I think even more could be used! It is delicious though, and I put two slices of bread in our bowls as they were only little slices! The whole dish is great and is still my favourite soup!! I think I’d put it under the grill next time for a couple minutes.

Would I make this again? Yes, more onions next time…

image

4 thoughts on “French Onion Soup

  1. Sounds delicious. You can never have too much onion in a French Onion Soup so I fully support your decision to put in EVEN more onions next time 😀 I also find that recipes say caramelising onions only takes 10 minutes when realistically you are looking at 45 mins, very frustrating. Still it is worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

