Honey Wafer Cake

I’ve said this loads but I really miss pictures of the recipes, I really could have done with one for this recipe as it didn’t quite go to plan..

image

image

It’s one of the longest recipes so I made sure I read the full thing a couple of times before actually starting! It’s a bit of an involved recipe so one that needs a bit of time.

First off I started with the egg and honey mix..

image

I kept whisking for about 5 minutes and by then it was thick and creamy looking..

image

The flour is folded in and that results in a sticky dough..

image

I left that to cool and started on the filling. First off the butter and cornflour are mixed together..

image

Then the sugar and cocoa powder is added, and it all seems like a strange mixture..

image

Once the milk is added it all looks a bit watery..

image

….but after about 5 minutes it’s thickened up but am unsure how thick? How long should this stage take?? I felt I needed more info at this point..

image

So while that cools I rolled out the pastry. Once it had been allowed to cool it was feeling less sticky and actually rolled out really easily. It does have to be really thin to stretch to 5 8 inch circles..

image

They cook really quickly, all were golden brown in 5 minutes. I did have to cook in batches as I don’t have enough trays or a big enough oven!

image

So next I creamed the remaining butter and sugar until it was light and creamy..

image

…but then it went horribly wrong! I started to add the cooled chocolate mixture very slowly but after only about 4 spoonfuls it had curdled and looked utterly revolting. I tried every trick I could think of to save it; whisked it, put it in the fridge and then re mixed, but nothing worked. It was awful looking and I had barely added any of the chocolate mix, there was still loads to add. I tried adding more but that made it worse! I even started again with the butter but the same thing happened..

image

The only thing I could think of was that the chocolate mixture was too thin, that should’ve been allowed to cook and thicken more. I had no more eggs to start that stage again so I had to improvise!

I still had the chocolate sauce but it was not thick enough to use on its own, so I whisked some double cream and mixed that with some of the chocolate sauce..

image

So I used that to spread between the wafers..

image

Then I had kept back some of the chocolate sauce and used that to cover the top. It was still too thin to cover the sides..

image

Then I opted to sprinkle over a flake bar..

image

So I think that’s been a good save!! I put it into the fridge before cutting..

image

Well I’m so glad I managed to save this as after all that effort I would’ve been annoyed had I not ended up with something edible! My version is delicious! The pastry wafers are nice and soft and the honey flavour is good. The chocolate sauce is nice as well but obviously is meant to be much thicker!

I did love this cake and although it’s not worked out quite right I’m quite pleased with the end result!

Would I make this again? Yes I would!

image

2 thoughts on “Honey Wafer Cake

Leave a Reply

