Raspberry Buns

Some people think I’m crazy when I say that I find baking very relaxing! So after a rather long and tiring day I did a spot of relaxing baking with my daughter..

image

image

This isn’t what we were originally going to bake but I went to get the eggs out of the fridge and they’d all gone! So this was an alternative recipe that fortunately doesn’t need an egg!

First off the margarine is rubbed into the flour and salt, I use stork for all my baking..

image

Next the sugar is stirred in and then finally the milk. I added the 3 tbsps first and then maybe only another teaspoon before I felt it was a stiff enough dough..

image

Next it’s rolled out into a long sausage shape..

image

Then cut into rounds..

image

They did need a bit of reshaping into circles before putting onto the baking tray..

image

Next we made a hollow in each one and then filled with jam..

image

Next we brushed them with milk and then they were sprinkled/drenched in sugar..

image

image

After 15 minutes they were cooked and have spread out quite a bit..

image

After our tea we had to do a good bit of taste testing and they are good, although I wouldn’t describe these as a bun, more like a biscuit! I asked my daughter if these are better than jammie dodgers and after she’d tried three she decided they were!

Would I make these again? Yes..

image

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Buns

Leave a Reply

