Pizza with Tomatoes and Cheese

This is another recipe that comes with a photo, and have to say it’s probably one I could do without one!! I didn’t think this recipe could go wrong…

image

image

image

We do quite often make our pizza dough and my daughter does love decorating her own! So I was thinking that this was going to be a very successful recipe! The dough is easy to make, although it is a rather wet dough..

image

After a bit of kneading it does become nice and smooth..

image

While that’s left to rise I started on the sauce. It worked out as 5 regular sized tomatoes that were skinned by simmering in boiling water for a few minutes..

image

Recipe says a small bit of onion so I just cut off about a quarter of an onion and that’s left to cook with the tomatoes and herbs..

image

While the dough was proving and the sauce cooling I looked out the toppings. I was using Port Salut cheese, which is really soft. Am not sure if it’s essential that you use stuffed olives but I did happen to have some garlic stuffed ones! Then there’s the anchovies! Possibly not a popular topping but I quite like them so they’re going on..

image

The dough did rise pretty quickly..

image

So the recipe says to put into a well oiled 8 inch cake tin, which I didn’t think seemed very big! I now know this is where I made a crucial mistake!! I gave the base of the tin a good layer of oil and only gave the sides a quick wipe. Then I pressed the dough into the tin..

image

Next I drained the tomato sauce and spread that over..

image

Then the cheese..

image

Finally the olives and anchovies! I opted not to use the full tin of anchovies as it seemed like a lot for this wee pizza!!

image

After a 15 minute prove I transferred to the oven. So I checked on this after about 15 minutes and it’s risen massively! I left it for another 15 and kind of hoped it would sink back a touch!!

After 30 minutes it was looking cooked and still pretty puffed up!!

image

So it was at this point that I realised the error of my ways! Could I get the damn thing out of the tin?? It’s a loose bottom cake tin but I couldn’t push the bottom up without running the risk of tearing the whole pizza. So I had to take a knife down the sides of the tin which wrecked the pizza..

image

Anyway I now know I should’ve well oiled the sides as well!! The recipe says this is very filling and enough for 4-6, but we were having this between the three of us. It is very soft and is more like a bread than a pizza. In fact I think this is the perfect example of a pizza pie!!

image

So how did it taste? It was good! It is very soft and all the toppings are good. I liked the anchovies but think I was the only one! The tomato sauce is really good but I think a bit more cheese is required!!

Would I make this again? Yes but I’d put it in a 9 inch tin at least and oil the sides..

image

4 thoughts on “Pizza with Tomatoes and Cheese

Leave a Reply

