Chicken a la Creme

I had a chicken and I had half a pot of cream so this was tea tonight..

image

image

The recipe says chicken joints and I had a whole chicken, so I attempted to joint it! I ended up with two legs and two breasts..

image

This is possibly going to sound daft but I couldn’t figure out how to get the thighs!! After cutting off the legs I really couldn’t see an obvious thigh, the only thing I could think was that I’d joined them together! Well I didn’t want to waste any meat on the chicken so I put the rest of the carcass in a pot with herbs, peppercorns and an onion and left to simmer to make a stock and then I could scrape any more meat from the bones.

The chicken and onions are put on to fry..

image

It took way longer than 5 minutes for the chicken to turn golden brown, more like 15 minutes..

image

Once the chicken was nicely golden I seasoned it, put a lid on and left to simmer for the 20 minuets. After then the chicken was looking well cooked and the onions were looking wonderfully soft..

image

Once the chicken and onions had been removed I added the flour, wine and stock..

image

I didn’t have the usual bouquet garni components so I just had to wrap some thyme leaves from my garden round a bay leaf!

image

That went into the sauce followed by the chicken and onions..

image

After about 15 minutes I removed the chicken to a warmed casserole dish..

image

Then I added the cream to the sauce..

image

….heated it up and then poured over the chicken..

image

May not look too great just now but it smells fantastic! All I served this with was some carrots and peas..

image

Well this one possibly my favourite chicken dish so far! The chicken is really nicely cooked, but it’s the sauce that is really fantastic! It’s thick and creamy and just lovely. The chicken and sauce is such a great combination, which is maybe to do with all that thyme, but I do think as long as you add some sort of herb it will be good.

We all loved this, my daughter said it was the best chicken dinner ever!

Would I make this again? Oh yeah!

image

2 thoughts on “Chicken a la Creme

Leave a Reply

