Bacon and Egg Pie

Sometimes you can’t beat pie and beans for tea…

image

image

I was making three mini pies for us, so I reduced all the ingredients to fit with that. I made 4 oz of shortcrust pastry using the same recipe from the book..

image

That was rolled out and used to line each of the pie dishes..

image

Then each one is filled with a rasher of chopped bacon..

image

It’s basically one egg person but I whisked the eggs and milk together and then split between the three pie dishes..

image

Then I put a lid on each pie, and do think I could be a bit neater with my pastry rolling!!

image

They were brushed with the last bits of egg and then into the oven. I followed the temperature lowering instructions but didn’t actually look in on them until almost the full time was done and they had puffed out to almost double the size of the tin! I gave them the full cooking time and after then they were really puffed and golden..

image

I was worried about getting them out of the tin but two came out really easily and the third just needed a bit of assistance!

image

So this was tea, a bacon and egg pie with beans..

image

Well for someone who doesn’t like egg I loved this!! The pastry is great and well cooked right through. The filling is so light and is obviously the cause of the swelling! It’s like a soufflĂ© omelette inside a pie!

image

We all loved this!

Would I make this again? Yes definitely..

image

2 thoughts on “Bacon and Egg Pie

Leave a Reply

