Rhubarberie

The rhubarb in my garden was needing cut back and I like the name of this recipe!!

image

image

My rhubarb always seems to be quite thin and scrawny..

image

This weighed out at just over half a pound so I quartered the other ingredients. I decided to use a mixture of raspberries and strawberries but because I was quartering it I only needed just over 50g..

image

The fruit was put into a pan with the sugar and water..

image

After about 5 minutes the fruit was really soft and the smell was amazing..

image

The liquid is strained off..

image

The liquid is then reheated and the cornflour added and it totally changes the colour and consistency of the liquid..

image

I blitzed up the fruit and then that’s added to the liquid..

image

…and all mixed together..

image

Even after quartering this I reckoned I had enough for two and opted to put into two glasses..

image

I left it to cool down and then put into the fridge to chill. So we had this as a pudding and it’s really rather nice! I’m not sure if it’s meant to be served with anything but on its own it’s nice enough, not too sweet but not too sharp from the rhubarb. Obviously it’s really soft so maybe would be good to serve with some shortbread for a bit of texture!

Would I make this again? Yes..

image

2 thoughts on “Rhubarberie

Leave a Reply

