Cheese and Rice Souffle

I can’t really see the point in putting rice in a souffle but I suppose it makes it a bit more substantial!

image

image

I think for all the other souffle recipes I have made individual ones but for this I decided to make as one big one. I was also very organised with my ingredients and had them all weighed out ready to go…

image

I just used a regular sized can of tomatoes and that was emptied into the base of the greased dish..

image

Then I made the white sauce part and was initially thinking it was too much flour to butter but once it had been cooked and the milk added slowly it all worked out fine. First I added the rice..

image

Then the egg and cheese. I used Red Leicester which I love! I know it’s got colour added and probably not far off a processed cheese but it’s my comfort cheese and I love it!!

image

Once that’s all mixed together I whisked the egg whites..

image

The egg whites are slowly folded into the cheesy mix..

image

The mix is then poured carefully over the tomatoes..

image

After about 35 minutes in the oven it’s golden brown and well risen..

image

So this was dinner for the three of us! I think at first it looks quite appetising and does smell good but when I spooned it out into a plate it looked a bit of a sloppy mess!! The top bit of the souffle was a nice fluffy texture but I think the bit sitting just on top of the wet tomatoes was perhaps not cooked enough!

image

It looked so awful that both my husband and daughter were put right off! They did eat some but did not love it and had to make something else! I did really like it!! It’s cheesy and actually quite light with a slighty weird tomato layer but I enjoyed my portion! The rice in the souffle is also quite weird but pleasant! I think I’ll be the only one having leftovers..

Would I make this again? Possibly, I’d perhaps make individual ones another time..

image

4 thoughts on “Cheese and Rice Souffle

Leave a Reply

