Beef and Watercress Soup

This isn’t a soup recipe I’d ever consider trying, I guess that’s one of the good things about doing this blog and cooking from this book is that I’m trying a lot of new and interesting recipes!!

So this one was for tea tonight..

IMG_3249

image

The recipes says to use a chicken broth which I kind of have made already and is in the freezer! I did loosely follow this recipe for that..

image

…but I didn’t add the rice and left as a clear broth. I had just under half a pound of rump steak so reduced the liquid a bit to about 1.5 pints.

The beef is diced finely..

IMG_3229

Then mixed with the soy, salt and oil..

IMG_3231

While that’s left to marinade I washed and removed the stalks from the watercress..

IMG_3233

Once the liquid is boiling I added the watercress..

IMG_3236

Then the beef..

IMG_3238

So it looks a bit like dirty pond water at this point!!

IMG_3239

After about 15 minutes I decided it was done. Yet again this is another recipe that tastes way way way better than it looks! We all really enjoyed this. Yes it’s very watery and light but the flavour from the beef, watercress and soy in the broth is really good. The meat is lovely and soft and I do think more of it would be good.

Would I make this again? Yes!

IMG_3249

Leave a comment