Crunchy-Topped Tea Bread

This recipe comes from the recipes around the world chapter and is apparently from Belgium..

IMG_3312

image

I made this yesterday and didn’t start until the evening, it does take a bit of time so was quite late by the time it was ready!! Seems like quite an unusal recipe. First I mixed the yeast, flour and milk. I didn’t have fresh yeast but I used a yeast conversion calculator to work out I need half a teaspoon of dried yeast!!

IMG_3276

I left it to rise for 45 minutes but didn’t look like too much had happened! I gave it a bit longer and still hadn’t risen much..

IMG_3279

I added the rest of the milk, flour and eggs and attempted to beat, but it’s really thick and sticky so not very easy!

IMG_3284

So the recipe says to roll it out onto a board, but there was no way I was going to be able to do that with this, it’s far too sticky. So I just poured it into the tin..

IMG_3288

While that was left to rise I stated with the topping..

IMG_3278

That all creams together and looks like breadcrumbs..

IMG_3289

The dough did rise significantly at this stage, so I sprinkled over the topping and then into the oven..

IMG_3295

After the full cooking time it was looking good, nicely golden and crunchy on top and had risen well..

IMG_3298

Last night we had to try a slice warm from the oven with butter..
IMG_3309

It is really soft inside although perhaps a touch doughy so maybe could’ve done with a bit longer in the oven, but despite that it’s really good! It’s like a sweet bread and the topping is brilliant!!

IMG_3311

This morning once it had fully cooled I had a couple of slices with jam..

IMG_3318

It still tastes really good, I did give it a few seconds in the toaster as it’s still a bit doughy. Overall though it’s a lovely tea bread, especially the topping!!

Would I make this again? Yes..

IMG_3312

Leave a Reply

