Savoury Nut Roll

This recipe comes from the diet and calorie count chapter, I’m not really on a diet but not sure this counts as a low calorie meal! I guess it’s low sugar, high complex carbs, protein and saturated fat, so if that’s the type of diet you’re on then this is one to try!!

IMG_3361

image

I had a bag of mixed nuts so blitzed up 4oz of that..

IMG_3349

Then added the parsley, onion and seasonings..

IMG_3350

Then the cooked rice is added along with the egg and tomato sauce..

IMG_3352

It’s all a bit wet so not easy to shape..

IMG_3353

I had to use the tea towel to help shape into a sausage and then tied the ends..

IMG_3354

This went into a big pot and I opted to have it simmering in some chicken stock, not sure if that will make much of a difference!

IMG_3355

While that was simmering I made a basic tomato sauce; garlic, onion, tomatoes, stock herbs and seasoning. It was left to simmer for half an hour and then blended.

So after an hour and a half I removed the roll from the pan. I managed to actual unroll it quite successfully, but it just doesn’t look very appealing..

IMG_3357

Looks a bit better with the tomato sauce poured over..

IMG_3360

I think my husband and daughter are now used to coming to the dinner table and seeing something a little unusal! I expected a few remarks on this looking awful but was quite surprised when neither of them had any objections to this!!

IMG_3361

I just served each of us with a slice of this with sauce poured over, it may not look like much but it’s really filling..

IMG_3364

It’s packed with the rice and nuts and is actually quite nice! I do think the fact that the sauce is really good does help, I’m not sure how much I could’ve managed with no sauce! We all polished off this one and there’s plenty left for lunch tomorrow..

Would I make this again? Yes, would try adding a few more different herbs or veggies next time..

IMG_3361

2 thoughts on “Savoury Nut Roll

Leave a Reply

