Chantille Sponge

I imagine this to be a really light sponge cake, I tried to search for other recipes but just kept finding recipes for chantilly cream sponges! The name conjours up a light fluffy delicate cake, but after reading the ingredients and seeing the flour to butter and sugar ratio I’m not so sure it will be that light…

IMG_3430

image

First off I creamed the butter and sugar..

IMG_3408

Then added the eggs and flour. It’s hard to say if it’s too dry at this stage, I thought it seemed ok so didn’t add any milk..

IMG_3411

Then I added the almonds and walnuts..

IMG_3413

I opted to use my multicoloured cherries, and 1 oz of Angelica actually works out as quite a lot! Think it’s going to be a colourful cake!

IMG_3414

The cherries and Angelica are all added, and usually when making a cake with cherries I coat them in flour before gently stirring in to avoid sinkage. For this I just added them as they are, the cake mix feels quite thick so hoping they will stay mixed through ok and not all sink to the bottom..

IMG_3422

After an hour and 15 minutes is a nice dark golden colour and fairly well risen..

IMG_3423

I left it to cool slightly before trying. It’s certainly got quite a bit of a crust! Then inside it is a bit crumbly, I maybe should’ve added some milk!

IMG_3432

Well I love the crust and all the walnuts and fruit have stayed well distributed which is good! Yes it’s not the light airy sponge I had imagined but it’s still really good and brilliant with a cup of tea! I love the cherries and Angelica through it and the walnuts add a nice crunch.

Would I make this again? Yes!

IMG_3430

4 thoughts on “Chantille Sponge

Leave a Reply

