Eggs in Baked Potatoes

This is one of those random recipes that I do love about this book! Eggs feature a lot in some quite unusual ways…

IMG_3490

image

I do really like a baked potato and it has to really super soft inside with a crispy skin. Usually for speed I microwave them first and then finish off in the oven to crisp up the skin. For this recipe it’s all done in the oven so does take a while. I was using my large Yorkshire pudding tin to cook them and first cut a circle in the top..

IMG_3469

I think I had these in the oven for pretty much two hours..

IMG_3470

The inside is scooped out and I did end up eating the crispy lid that had been cut out!

IMG_3471

Then I mashed the insides with some butter, milk and seasoning and spooned some of that back in to each potato..

IMG_3473

Then comes the unusual step of cracking an egg and pouring into each potato..

IMG_3475

After about 15 minutes the egg was looking set..

IMG_3478

I then quickly piped on the remaining potato, and perhaps could’ve made a slightly neater job!!

IMG_3480

After only a few minutes under the grill the potato was browned and the egg had puffed up a bit more..

IMG_3484

So this was dinner, an egg stuffed baked potato with a beetroot salad and Turkey escalope!

IMG_3490

I tried really hard to get a decent photo of the inside but it was getting dark and I’m rubbish at good photos, but I do think it looks quite good inside!!

IMG_3491

So how does it taste? It’s a good baked potato, lovely soft flesh and really crispy skin. The egg is very unusual but in a good way and I actually quite enjoyed it!

Would I make this again? Yes!

IMG_3491

4 thoughts on “Eggs in Baked Potatoes

Leave a Reply

