Apple Ginger Jam

The jam, jellies and marmalades chapter is another one I’ve maybe neglected a little and still have a good few to try! I made this last night to allow to cool for testing tonight. It may seem unusual to be making jam on a Tuesday night but just goes to show how easy it is!!

IMG_3505

image

I had one cooking apple that weighed just under 1 pound so I quartered everything else. So first I chopped the apple..

IMG_3451

I didn’t have any muslin so I had to just use a thinnish dish cloth for the peel and core..

IMG_3453

The apple and water go into a pan with the tied up tea towel..

IMG_3455

While that was simmering I chopped up the ginger. The recipe says preserved ginger, but I was using stem ginger in syrup. I used to hate stem ginger as a child! I loved ginger biscuits with dried ginger but really didn’t like stem ginger! Now I do love it!

IMG_3456

It really didn’t take long for the apple to soften..

IMG_3459

I didn’t need to really sieve or mash the apple, I just gave it a good beat! Next in went the chopped ginger and liquid from the jar, lemon and sugar..

IMG_3460

That was left to simmer for about 20 minutes before it reached the right temperature, and by then it was very sticky and smelling good..

IMG_3464

I left it to cool and I sterilised the empty ginger jar! I ended up with one jar and one ramekin of jam!

IMG_3467

So tonight I made some wholemeal scones to try the jam on..

IMG_3504

Well it is a very thick jam! I read back some jam making tips and it does say that some fruits reach setting point a few degrees lower than others plus I think cooking apples are quite rich in pectin that helps the jam to set. It’s not too thick and does spread on a scone nicely!

IMG_3505

Well this is a good jam!! I do love the gingery flavour, it’s sweet and as all jams are but it’s also quite refreshing!! Perfect on a scone..

Would I make this again? Yes!

IMG_3467

4 thoughts on “Apple Ginger Jam

Leave a Reply

