Scallops and Bacon

So what to have with champagne cocktails? I’d thought of doing something with oysters but think I’m still a bit scared of them! So opted for scallops instead..

IMG_3536
image

This is only the second time I’ve cooked with scallops but I’ve been eating them more when in restaurants and do really like them! I am worried about both overlooking and undercooking! Anyway I got 6 scallops for the two of us..

IMG_3534

They are sprinkled with salt, pepper and lemon juice..

IMG_3535

Then each one is wrapped in a slice of streaky bacon..

IMG_3536

I cooked them under the grill for roughly 5 minutes. I’d hoped to have some lovely pictures of the cooked scallops but as usual once it’s dark in my kitchen everything looks rubbish..

IMG_3556

I did make a tartare sauce of sorts, I mixed mayonnaise with chives, gherkins and capers..

IMG_3555

So this recipe is really meant to be an appetiser but I was making this for our tea! So what to serve with scallops and bacon…..chips!

IMG_3557

It’s may seem like a very unusual Tuesday night dinner, but I thoroughly enjoyed scallops and bacon with chips, washed down with champagne cocktails!

The scallops were lovely and soft and quite sweet, which combined with the salty bacon is really good! I don’t think they were overcooked which is good, and am just wishing I’d made more!

Would I make this again? Yes!

IMG_3556

Leave a Reply

