Choc-Au-Rum

I fancied making something chocolatey for after dinner and this recipe caught my eye…

image

image

I’m always a little fearful of recipes that involve uncooked eggs! So I know that raw eggs feature in a chocolate mousse and I’ve eaten a good few of them over the years!!

I have a very very cheap rum in the cupboard that I use only for cooking, and I decided to third this recipe to just make a couple of portions..

image

Once the chocolate had been melted I added the egg yolk and the mixture did look a little grainy..

image

I think I perhaps overheated the chocolate, but think I was being paranoid about the raw egg!! Once the rum was added it did start to look smoother. Next I whisked up the egg white..

image

It took me ages to fold the egg white into the chocolate mix! The chocolate mixture was really quite thick and I didn’t want to over beat it so took a good 10 minutes to mix together and then spooned into cocktail glasses..

image

I left that to set for a while in the fridge and then spread on the cream..

image

…and then some chopped walnuts…

image

So this was our pudding! I think my daughter was miffed that I hadn’t made one for her, but she’s too young for rum!!

So I put the thought of raw eggs out of my mind and really really enjoyed this! The chocolate mousse style bit is wonderfully rich and has set to a really nice consistency. Then the cream and nuts in top and a lovely extra creaminess and a bit of texture. Overall this was a fab pud!

Would I make this again? Yes!

image

2 thoughts on “Choc-Au-Rum

Leave a Reply

