Rich Afternoon Tea Scones

I had been given some homemade raspberry jam from a friend so felt I had to make these to try with it!

image

image

I had made the basic oven scone recipe almost two years ago! This recipe comes just after that and is more like a variation of that recipe. I was just going to go for the everyday fruit scone but decided I’d try the rich afternoon ones just to be a bit fancy!

So for this it’s the same dry ingredients with some sugar and then I did opt to add the fruit..

image

Then I added the egg and milk and started kneaded lightly..

image

Once I’d managed to remove as many of the cracks as possible by kneading, which took a bit longer than I expected, I cut into small rounds..

image

image

After 10 minutes they had risen a bit..

image

image

I couldn’t wait for them to cool before I had to try one..

image

There is blurb at the start of the scone chapter that does give some info on scone making faults and one of the reasons for not rising is due to over handling, I think I did possibly over handle the dough when trying to remove all the cracks.

Despite them not being massively risen they are great and perfect with the fantastic jam!

I don’t know if I would be able to tell the difference if I had a fruit scone with no egg in it though, I’ll maybe have to make a batch of each just to test that out..

Would I make these again? Yes!

image

2 thoughts on “Rich Afternoon Tea Scones

Leave a Reply

