Scalloped Potatoes

This recipe comes from the family catering section, it gives you quantities for 20, I don’t fancy having to cook this for 20!!

image

image

I suppose this is quite like a gratin, but what I found unusual was the addition of the flour and milk. I do sometimes make a potato gratin but use stock as the liquid.

I was making this in a bit of a rush, ideally I would try and make the layers a but prettier!

image

I was tempted to put a few bits of butter on the top, or maybe some cheese, but left it just as the recipe says and covered with tin foil. After an hour I took the foil off, well I tried to, it had stuck to the top layer which was really annoying and made me wish I had put some butter on top to stop the sticking.

image

I put in back in the oven while I finished off the dinner which helped crisp up the top layer slightly.

As I cut into this I could see what the flour had done, it had created a wonderfully creamy sauce which was great. The potatoes were lovely and soft and altogether it tasted brill. I do think some herbs through the layers and maybe some Parmesan on top would be great, but overall as this is it’s a great alternative way to cook potatoes.

Would I make this again? Yes

image

7 thoughts on “Scalloped Potatoes

Leave a comment