Cherry Cake

There seems to be quite a few cherry cake variations in the book, which suits me as I love cake and I love cherries!!

image

image

Am sure there is some sort of science behind the flour/cornflour mix but I’ve no idea what it is. I’ve made a good few cakes in my time but I’ve never use cornflour with plain four and self raising flour like this! I have plenty of regular red cherries but opted to throw in a few of the multicoloured ones..

image

image

So I did wash the cherries and died them pretty well. I mixed all the other ingredients together and then folded in all the dry. I did try to make sure all the cherries weren’t grouped together when I put the mix in the tin..

image

Not sure why it has to be sugar cubes, pretty sure regular brown sugar would do but I do have sugar cubes in the cupboard so crushed a few of them and sprinkled on top..

image

After about an hour and 20 minutes it was looking done..

image

I don’t know about anyone else but I do like to make sure there is something sweet, preferably home baked, to have with a cup of tea after dinner, in fact I get annoyed if there isn’t anything! So thinking this is the ideal post dinner treat to have with my cup of tea…

image

I did try to make sure the cherries hadn’t been grouped together, and the distribution looked ok when I cut into the cake..

image

Well I thought this was great. I love the almonds in the cake and that’s a great combination with the cherries. The crunch sugar on top is a nice touch as well. Still have No idea what the cornflour is doing and if it’s really necessary to have both types of flour, it’s a nice texture so maybe there’s some sort of science thing behind it all. I thought it was another great cherry cake.

Would I make this again? Yes definitely..

image

2 thoughts on “Cherry Cake

Leave a comment