Lemon Curd

I had bought a massive bag of lemons so decided to give this a go. I was going to make the full lot but then after reading the foot of the recipe where it says it doesn’t last long I decided to just quarter everything.

image

image

I used to think that lemon curd sounded like it would be complicated to make! Well after reading this it seems very straightforward, and there very few ingredients which are pretty much a basic in most cupboards..

image

It doesn’t take long for the sugar to dissolve..

image

I had no idea how long it was going to take to thicken, and then I wasn’t sure how thick it should be! After about 15 minutes and some stirring it had totally changed consistency and was looking lovely and thick!

image

I sterilised the jar in an oven then strained the curd in. I did only end up with just under one jar.

image

While this was cooling I made a batch of scones to try with it. It’s a bit more runny than the shop bought stuff but maybe it just needs a little longer to set or a bit of time in the fridge.

Well I really loved this! It’s not too sweet and just the perfect amount of lemoniness! I was so surprised how well this turned out and how easy it is!

Would I make this again? Yes, will be making my own lemon curd from now on and do wish I’d made more today!!

image

8 thoughts on “Lemon Curd

  1. I love homemade lemon curd. So much nicer than the standard shop bought stuff! I have my Grandma’s recipe, which looks very similar, and have made it many times, gifting the extra jars to grateful friends. I have also made a lime curd variation. Yummy!

    • I know! It’s really easy to make as well, I always thought it would be difficult to get the right consitency. I thought mine was a bit runny but I think I was being hasty and trying when still a tad warm. Today it’s the perfect consistency!

  2. Pingback: Orange Curd | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

